Sexual Assault Defense Attorneys Las Vegas
Are you facing a rape charge in Clark County, Nevada? If so, you had better contact our Las Vegas rape defense lawyers serving all of Clark County, Nevada immediately.
Call (702) 930-5881 for a free consultation with our Clark County sex crime defense attorneys.
Rape charges are very common occurrences in Las Vegas, Nevada. At our bars and clubs, things can get out of hand, and like any place in the USA, details can get hazy and false allegations can be brought against an individual for various reasons. Date rape, or “rape committed by a victim’s escort,” is one of the most common sexual crimes. Date rape is when “forcible sexual intercourse occurs during a voluntary social engagement, in which a woman does not intent to submit to the sexual advances of her escort and resists the advances through verbal refusals, denials, pleas to stop and physical resistance.” While this offense may not seem as awful as a standard rape charge, it is prosecuted in the same manner in Nevada.
Contact me at (702) 930-5881 if you have been accused of rape.
DEFENSES TO RAPE ALLEGATIONS
There are many defenses that could apply to your case and if not enough evidence exists and I could help you achieve a charge dismissal or reduction. As a Las Vegas criminal attorney, you can rest assured that I will do everything I can to get your charges dropped or reduced. Defenses that could be relevant to your case include:
- False accusations
- The “victim” consented and thus it was consensual sex
- No intercourse ever occurred
PENALTIES YOU COULD FACE WITH A RAPE CONVICTION
If convicted of rape, penalties depend upon the age of the victim, whether the victim was substantially harmed and whether or not you have a prior record. If substantial bodily harm resulted, you could face life in prison. You will also not be given the possibility of parole if the victim is younger than 16.
If the sexual incident did not result in substantial bodily harm to the victim, you could face a life in prison sentence with the possibility of parole. The mandatory minimum prison time depends upon the age of the victim. For example, if the victim is 13 or younger, parole can be allowed after 35 years, whereas if the victim was 16 or older, parole can be granted after 10 years.
If you are a repeat offender, a subsequent conviction can result in a life in prison sentence without possibility of parole. If you are 18 or older and you had consensual sex with a minor aged 15 or younger, you can be charged with “Statutory Sexual Seduction” which is a Category C felony in Nevada. If you are 21 or older, this crime can result in one to five years in Nevada prison and an up to $10,000 fine. If you are younger than 21, you could face up to one year in jail and a fine up to $2,000.
CONTACT MY OFFICE TODAY: YOU DON’T HAVE A MOMENT TO LOSE!
If I cannot get your charge dismissed, I can attempt to plea bargain to get your charge reduced to a lesser offense. Rape is one of the most serious crimes in Nevada and if you have been accused of this offense, it is imperative that you secure criminal defense on your side immediately. I can make sure that your rights are protected and I can begin the process of negotiating with prosecutors.